Skip to second level menu Skip to inner content
Main content start
Useful Links
Second level menu start
Inner content start
Senate Committee on Language Enhancement
Terms of Reference and Composition:  



To be appointed by the Vice-Chancellor


Ex-officio members:
Dean of each Faculty, or an Associate Dean (Education) as his/her representative  
Heads of all the language enhancement units: 
        ·    Department of Chinese Language and Literature  
        ·    English Language Teaching Unit
        ·    Yale–China Chinese Language Centre  
Dean of the Faculty of Arts   


Other members as appointed by the Vice-Chancellor:
Up to five other teachers, including some with expertise in applied linguistics and/or languages
At least one representative of the College language enhancement committees


Two student representatives:   
To be elected among the serving Student Senators


To be nominated by the Registrar

Terms of Reference:  

To keep under review all aspects of bilingual education at the University;
To keep under review the implementation of the University's policy on bilingual education, and to facilitate the promotion of the policy;

To keep under review all language enhancement programmes in Chinese (Putonghua, Cantonese and written Chinese) and English, including the approval of new programmes and the quality and outcomes of these programmes;
To promote all language enhancement efforts at the University, with reference to the recommendations of the Committee on Bilingualism.
Contact Information of Secretariat:  
Person in Charge: Miss Flora Chan
Telephone Number: 3943 8988